Angouleme 2019

Here are the books that arrived in our latest shipment of European imports. There are a variety of art books and French graphic novels. These include my selection of new titles from all the major French bande dessinee publishers, limited edition monographs published by the Angouleme BD Festival, art books from Ominiky Ediciones in Spain, and some art books and comics from Belgium and the Netherlands. There are also rare and out-of-print books I scouted at Angouleme and over nine days in Paris. 

 
Al Severin, Severin, Al, One of 999 numbered copies signed by the artist, Fine, issued without dustjacket, Brussels, Enigma, 2006, 1st, 9789085090175, 9085090172, 12 inches, 8.5 inches, 64 pages, black & white, hardcover, pictorial boards

We located the last copies of this glorious art book with a Belgian distributor and bought them out. This is one of my favorite artists and one of my...

+

Kerascoet, Kerascoet, Fine in publisher's shrinkwrap, Paris, Soleil, 2014, 1st, 9782302042766, 12.5 inches, 10.6 inches, 324 pages, color and black & white illustrations, hardcover, pictorial cloth, French

A massive coffee table art book devoted to the artists of Miss Pas Touche, Jolies Tenebres, and Beaute (Miss Don't Touch Me, Beautiful Darkness, and...

+

Pasqual Ferry, Ferry, Pasqual, Fine, Ominiky, Palma de Mallorca, 2016, 1st, 11.7 inches, 8.25 inches, 56 pages, color and black & white illustrations, Softcover, wraps

Pasqual Ferry is a Spanish comic book artist and penciller best known here for his work for DC and Marvel (Heroes for Hire, Action Comics, Adam Strange,...

+

Species Vol. 1
  $20.00
In stock
Stan Manoukian, Manoukian, Stan, Very Fine, Stan Manoukian, Paris, 2015, 1st, 6 inches, 8.2 inches, 42 pages, color illustrations, Softcover, wraps

"A Collection of Unknown Creatures." Strange, cute and funny creatures lushly drawn in ink. Fans of Dave Cooper, Ragnar, and Bobby Chiu will like these...

+

Species Vol. 2
  $24.00
In stock
Stan Manoukian, Manoukian, Stan, Very Fine, Stan Manoukian, Paris, 2017, 1st, 8.2 inches, 8.2 inches, 60 pages, color illustrations, Softcover, wraps

A collection of 134 strange creatures created and rendered in color and black & white by Stan Manoukian. Fans of Dave Cooper, Ragnar, and Bobby Chiu...

+

Very Fine, Joost Swarte, Swarte, Joost, Oog & Blik, 2012, 1st, 9789054923763, 9.5 inches, 6.75 inches, 20 in leporello form, color, Softcover, wraps, Dutch

Some years back, Joost Swarte published a book titled "Leporello," which is not, in fact, a leporello. Here we have an actual leporello by Joost Swarte, and...

+

Joost Swarte, Swarte, Joost, Limited to 750 copies, Very Fine, Griffioen Graffiek, Hilversum, 2011, 1st, 8.25 inches, 5.5 inches, 8 pages, color, Softcover, wraps, English

A luxurious little production of "a tiny graphic novel" by Joost Swarte (originally published in the annual report of the Dutch Booksellers Association in...

+

Zerstorer der Welt
  $125.00
In stock
Moebius (Jean Giraud), Moebius (Jean Giraud), Fine, Volksverlag, Linden, Germany, 1980, 1st, 9 inches, 6.5 inches, 48 pages, 43 panels in black & white, Hardcover, pictorial boards, German

A sharp copy of the first printing of the German edition of Moebius' Tueur de Monde ("World Killer"). The format closely emulates the French first edition...

+