Angouleme 2019

Here are the books that arrived in our latest shipment of European imports. There are a variety of art books and French graphic novels. These include my selection of new titles from all the major French bande dessinee publishers, limited edition monographs published by the Angouleme BD Festival, art books from Ominiky Ediciones in Spain, and some art books and comics from Belgium and the Netherlands. There are also rare and out-of-print books I scouted at Angouleme and over nine days in Paris. 

 
Arnaud Le Gouëfflec, Dominique Bertail, Le Gouëfflec, Arnaud, Bertail, Dominique, Signed by the artist, Very Fine, issued without dustjacket, Paris, Fluide Glacial, 2018, 2nd, 978-2352079866, 12.75 inches, 9.25 inches, 96 pages, color, Hardcover, cloth spine, pictorial boards, French

Signed by the artist at our booth at NCSFest! This limited edition has a cloth spine, 8 extra pages of artwork, and a color illustrated bookplate (it...

+

Arnaud Le Gouëfflec, Dominique Bertail, Le Gouëfflec, Arnaud, Bertail, Dominique, Signed by the artist, Very Fine, issued without dustjacket, Fluide Glacial, Paris, 2018, 978-2-352-07970-5, 12.75 inches, 9.25 inches, 88 pages, color, Hardcover, pictorial boards, French

Signed by the artist at our booth at NCSFest! "Mondo Reverso is a transgender Western. The men are women, the women are men." Like all women in...

+

Monstre a peur des monstres
  $22.00
In stock
Séverine Gauthier, Stan Manoukian, Gauthier, Séverine, Manoukian, Stan, Very Fine, issued without dustjacket, Paris, Glenat, 2019, 1st, 978-2344031230, 8 inches, 10.5 inches, 32 pages, color illustrations, Hardcover, pictorial boards, French

A new must-see series that features adorable little monsters! We talk a lot about monsters ... they come out at night and sleep during the day. Thus,...

+

Kerascoet, Kerascoet, Fine in publisher's shrinkwrap, Paris, Soleil, 2014, 1st, 9782302042766, 12.5 inches, 10.6 inches, 324 pages, color and black & white illustrations, hardcover, pictorial cloth, French

A massive coffee table art book devoted to the artists of Miss Pas Touche, Jolies Tenebres, and Beaute (Miss Don't Touch Me, Beautiful Darkness, and...

+

Pasqual Ferry, Ferry, Pasqual, Fine, Ominiky, Palma de Mallorca, 2016, 1st, 11.7 inches, 8.25 inches, 56 pages, color and black & white illustrations, Softcover, wraps

Pasqual Ferry is a Spanish comic book artist and penciller best known here for his work for DC and Marvel (Heroes for Hire, Action Comics, Adam Strange,...

+

Quand le cirque est venu
  $25.00
In stock
Wilfrid Lupano, Stephane Fert, Lupano, Wilfrid, Fert, Stephane, Very Fine, issued without dustjacket, Paris, Delcourt, 2017, 1st, 978-2-7560-9421-2, 14 inches, 10.75 inches, 24 pages, color, Hardcover, pictorial boards, French

In English: When the Circus Comes to Town From the publisher: In this delirious, colorful tale, Wilfrid Lupand and Stéphane Fert invite the...

+

Renato Roldan, Roldan, Renato, Includes a signed & numbered illustrated bookplate limited to 100, Fine, Ominiky Ediciones, Palma de Mallorca, 2018, 1st, 11.7 inches, 8.25 inches, 56 pages, color and black & white illustrations, Softcover, wraps

Includes a signed & numbered illustrated bookplate limited to 100. Renato Roldan: "I started my career as an animator, but ended up doing...

+

Species Vol. 1
  $20.00
In stock
Stan Manoukian, Manoukian, Stan, Very Fine, Stan Manoukian, Paris, 2015, 1st, 6 inches, 8.2 inches, 42 pages, color illustrations, Softcover, wraps

"A Collection of Unknown Creatures." Strange, cute and funny creatures lushly drawn in ink. Fans of Dave Cooper, Ragnar, and Bobby Chiu will like these...

+

Species Vol. 2
  $24.00
In stock
Stan Manoukian, Manoukian, Stan, Very Fine, Stan Manoukian, Paris, 2017, 1st, 8.2 inches, 8.2 inches, 60 pages, color illustrations, Softcover, wraps

A collection of 134 strange creatures created and rendered in color and black & white by Stan Manoukian. Fans of Dave Cooper, Ragnar, and Bobby Chiu...

+

Very Fine, Joost Swarte, Swarte, Joost, Oog & Blik, 2012, 1st, 9789054923763, 9.5 inches, 6.75 inches, 20 in leporello form, color, Softcover, wraps, Dutch

Some years back, Joost Swarte published a book titled "Leporello," which is not, in fact, a leporello. Here we have an actual leporello by Joost Swarte, and...

+

Joost Swarte, Swarte, Joost, Limited to 750 copies, Very Fine, Griffioen Graffiek, Hilversum, 2011, 1st, 8.25 inches, 5.5 inches, 8 pages, color, Softcover, wraps, English

A luxurious little production of "a tiny graphic novel" by Joost Swarte (originally published in the annual report of the Dutch Booksellers Association in...

+

Ange, Patrick Renault, Charlie Adlard, Ange, Patrick Renault, Adlard, Charlie, Signed by the artist, Very Fine, issued without dustjacket, Soleil, Toulon, 2019, 1st, 15 inches, 10.5 inches, 72 pages, black & white with 16 pages in color, Hardcover, pictorial boards, French

Charlie Adlard was kind enough to sign this copy for us. This limited oversize deluxe edition reproduces the entire 52-page graphic novel from Adlard's...

+