Atom Agency Tome 2 - Petit hanneton N/B Grand Format - Limited Edition


 

$60.00

In stock

55740
+

Description

This deluxe edition presents the entire 54-page album in an oversize black & white format to fully appreciate Olivier Schwartz's beautiful clear-line art before the color is added. With 16 bonus pages of extra art and sketches in color, plus a color frontispiece of the penciled & inked cover art printed on thick watercolor stock.

The Atom Agency is a fun detective thriller incomprehensible if one cannot read French, but the story is fast-paced with frequent changes of scene and Schwartz is constantly moving his camera from panel to panel, so every panel is a beauty to be savored.

From the publisher:

A special edition in black and white in a large format with a single edition of 1500 copies.

Since the end of the war, no one has seen Annette, the beautiful ambulance driver: a heroic "Rochambelle" (all-women's ambulance corps), this female unit integrated into the 2nd armored division of General Leclerc.

Five years later, it is boiling at the 36th Precinct: Commissioner Vercorian is on the verge of shutting down Public Enemy No. 1. So when a former companion from the 2nd Armored Division comes to ask for his help in finding Annette, he gets rid of the case by praising the merits of his son, Atom Vercorian, the private detective of the Atom Agency.

The Yann-Schwartz duo revives noir thrillers in the tradition of Maurice Tillieux and Gil Jourdan. This jubilant episode which gives a beautiful role to Jean Gabin (the star of La Bête humaine, Pépé le Moko, and Quai des brumes) transports us to the fifties.

En résumé:

Une édition spéciale en noir et blanc en grand format au tirage unique de 1500 exemplaires.

Depuis la fin de la guerre, personne n'a revu Annette, la belle ambulancière : une héroïque "Rochambelle", cette unité féminine intégrée à la 2e division blindée du général Leclerc. Cinq ans plus tard, c'est l'ébullition au 36 Quai des Orfèvres : le commissaire Vercorian est sur le point de coffrer l'ennemi public n°1. Alors quand un ancien compagnon de la 2e DB vient lui demander son aide pour retrouver Annette, il se débarrasse de l'affaire en vantant les mérites de son fils, le détective privé de l'Atom Agency.

Le duo Yann-Schwartz ressuscite les polars noirs dans la tradition de Maurice Tillieux et de Gil Jourdan. Porté par des dialogues truculents qui jouent avec les argots d'après-guerre, cet épisode jubilatoire et plein de gouaille qui donne le beau rôle à la star de La Bête humaine, Pépé le Moko et Quai des brumes investit par le prisme de la diaspora arménienne une perspective sociale, ajoute un zeste d'ironie dans cette atmosphère nostalgique et nous transporte dans l'atmosphère des 50's.

Features

Olivier Schwartz
Yann

Condition & Attributes

Very Fine, issued without dustjacket
Limited to 1500 copies

Creators

Olivier
Schwartz
Yann

Publishing Information

Marcinelle
Dupuis
2020
1st
9791034750375

Physical Description

14.5 inches
10.2 inches
72 pages
black & white
Hardcover
cloth spine, pictorial boards
French

Customers also bought