Famous American Illustrators: Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame Awards - Original Edition



In stock



The original edition of this excellent survey features decorative cloth covers with an onlaid color plate and a translucent dustjacket. This survey contains all 87 illustrators inducted into the Society of Illustrators' Hall of Fame through 1996. Each artist is given a profile and portfolio of color images.

Published for the Society of Illustrators by Rotovision, Switzerland. Out of print.

From the publisher:

Fascinating insights into the lives and works of 87 top artists elected to the Illustrators Hall of Fame make this an inspiring reference for professionals, students, collectors, art historians, and appreciators of fine commercial art.

This full color volume presents the artists in the order in which they received the honor. From illustrators such as N.C. Wyeth to Charles Dana Gibson to Thomas Nast, each entry includes a b&w photograph of the artist along with a short biographical sketch and major examples of his or her work, offering a sweeping overview of the art of illustration. 450 color illustrations.

1958: Norman Rockwell
1959: Dean Cornwell, Harold von Schmidt
1960: Fred Cooper
1961: Floyd Davis
1962: Edward A. Wilson
1963: Walter Biggs
1964: Arthur William Brown
1965: Al Parker
1966: Albert Dorne
1967: Robert Fawcett
1968: Peter Helck
1969: Austin Briggs
1970: Rube Goldberg
1971: Stevan Dohanos
1972: Ray Prohaska
1973: Jon Whitcomb
1974: Charles Dana Gibson, Tom Lovell, N. C. Wyeth
1975: Bernie Fuchs, Maxfield Parrish, Howard Pyle
1976: Harvey Dunn, John Falter, Winslow Homer
1977: J. C. Leyendecker, Wallace Morgan, Robert Peak
1978: Norman Price, Frederic Remington, Coby Whitmore
1979: Edwin Austin Abbey, Lorraine Fox, Ben Stahl
1980: Howard Chandler Christy, James Montgomery Flagg, Saul Tepper
1981: Stan Galli, John Gannam, Frederic R. Gruger
1982: John Clymer, Carl Erickson, Henry P. Raleigh
1983: Franklin Booth, Mark English, Noel Sickles
1984: John La Gatta, Neysa McMein, James Williamson
1985: Arthur Burdett Frost, Charles Marion Russell, Robert Weaver
1986: Al Hirschfeld, Rockwell Kent
1987: Maurice Sendak, Haddon Sundblom
1988: René Bouché, Pruett Carter, Robert T. McCall
1989: Erté, John Held Jr., Arthur Ignatius Keller
1990: Robert Riggs, Morton Roberts, Burt Silverman
1991: Jessie Willcox Smith, William Arthur Smith, Donald Teague
1992: Joe Bowler, Edwin A. Georgi, Dorothy Hood
1993: Robert McGinnis, Thomas Nast, Coles Phillips
1994: Harry Anderson, Elizabeth Shippen Green, Ben Shahn
1995: James Avati, McClelland Barclay, Joseph Clement Coll, Frank Schoonover
1996: Anton Otto Fischer, Winsor McCay, Violet Oakley, Mead Schaeffer, Herbert Tauss


Arpi Ermoyan

Condition & Attributes

Very Fine in Very Fine dustjacket in publisher's shrinkwrap



Publishing Information

Crans, Switzerland

Physical Description

12 inches
12 inches
224 pages
450 color illustrations
decorative cloth with an onlaid color plate