Tales from the Loop


 

$40.00

In stock

52055
+

Description

From the publisher:

The basis for the new TV series!

Perfect for fans of E.T. and Stranger Things--the first narrative artbook from acclaimed author and artist Simon Stålenhag about a fictionalized suburban town in the 1980s inhabited by fantastic machines and strange, imaginative beasts.

In 1954, the Swedish government ordered the construction of the world's largest particle accelerator. The facility was complete in 1969, located deep below the pastoral countryside of Mälaröarna. The local population called this marvel of technology The Loop. These are its strange tales.

From the same author who wrote the imaginative artbook The Electric State, this "haunting," ( The Verge) "sophisticated sci-fi" ( The Nerdist) follows the bizarre stories from otherworldly creatures and is a page-turner you won't be able to put down.

From the original publisher:

Simon Stålenhag's Tales from the Loop is a wildly successful crowd-funded project that takes viewers on a surprising sci-fi journey through various country and city landscapes from small towns in Sweden and the deserts of Nevada to the bitter chill of Siberia where children explore and engage with abandoned robots, vehicles, and machinery large and small, while dinosaurs and other creatures wander our roads and fields. Stålenhag's paintings and stories take place in an alternate version of Sweden in the '80s and '90s, primarily in the countryside of Mälaröarna, a string of islands just west of Stockholm, and how this reality came about: the development of the Loop, a large particle accelerator and the side effects of the massive project. These incredibly captivating works and accompanying text capture perhaps a not-too-distant reality that is both haunting and imminent: addressing the many ways developing technology and nature can create havoc and wonder in our world plus, its impact on the next generation. This is the English edition of the first book in Swedish that sold out in its initial printing.

Features

Simon Stalenhag

Condition & Attributes

Very Fine, issued without dustjacket

Creators

Simon
Stalenhag

Publishing Information

New York
Skybound Books
2020
1st Skybound Books printing

Physical Description

10 inches
11.25 inches
128 pages
color and black & white illustrations
Hardcover
cloth spine, pictorial boards
English