Atom Agency Tome 2 - Petit hanneton


 

$25.00

Out of stock

55724

Description

The Atom Agency is a fun detective thriller incomprehensible if one cannot read French, but the artwork is the zenith of the modern clear-line bande dessinee style. The story is fast-paced with frequent changes of scene and Schwartz is constantly moving his camera from panel to panel, so every panel is a beauty to be savored.

From the publisher:

Since the end of the war, no one has seen Annette, the beautiful ambulance driver: a heroic "Rochambelle" (all-women's ambulance corps), this female unit integrated into the 2nd armored division of General Leclerc.

Five years later, it is boiling at the 36th Precinct: Commissioner Vercorian is on the verge of shutting down Public Enemy No. 1. So when a former companion from the 2nd Armored Division comes to ask for his help in finding Annette, he gets rid of the case by praising the merits of his son, Atom Vercorian, the private detective of the Atom Agency.

The Yann-Schwartz duo revives noir thrillers in the tradition of Maurice Tillieux and Gil Jourdan. This jubilant episode which gives a beautiful role to Jean Gabin (the star of La Bête humaine, Pépé le Moko, and Quai des brumes) transports us to the fifties.

En résumé

Depuis la fin de la guerre, personne n'a revu Annette, la belle ambulancière : une héroïque "Rochambelle", cette unité féminine intégrée à la 2e division blindée du général Leclerc. Cinq ans plus tard, c'est l'ébullition au 36 Quai des Orfèvres : le commissaire Vercorian est sur le point de coffrer l'ennemi public n°1. Alors quand un ancien compagnon de la 2e DB vient lui demander son aide pour retrouver Annette, il se débarrasse de l'affaire en vantant les mérites de son fils, le détective privé de l'Atom Agency.

Le duo Yann-Schwartz ressuscite les polars noirs dans la tradition de Maurice Tillieux et de Gil Jourdan. Porté par des dialogues truculents qui jouent avec les argots d'après-guerre, cet épisode jubilatoire et plein de gouaille qui donne le beau rôle à la star de La Bête humaine, Pépé le Moko et Quai des brumes investit par le prisme de la diaspora arménienne une perspective sociale, ajoute un zeste d'ironie dans cette atmosphère nostalgique et nous transporte dans l'atmosphère des 50's.

Features

Olivier Schwartz
Yann

Condition & Attributes

Very Fine, issued without dustjacket

Creators

Olivier
Schwartz
Yann

Publishing Information

Marcinelle
Dupuis
2020
9791034737987

Physical Description

12.7 inches
9.5 inches
56 pages
color
Hardcover
pictorial boards
French